Dress # 4

8 Apr

So, when my husband and I decided that we were going to adopt 2 children, I immediately thought that they need to have the cutest wardrobe on the block. I think that’s what’s fueling my recent obsession with sewing baby dresses.

dress #4

I made this one last night. It’s the same Lotta Jansdotter pattern I used before. The fabric is from some stash fabric that my husband bought for me the last time he went to Gabon. I was fairly neutral on this fabric before using it last night – now I love it! I think this is my favorite dress, so far.

I have some more pieces of Gabonese fabric cut out for a couple more dresses and I’m trying a pair of pants (we’re adopting a boy who’s about a year old and a girl who’s about 8 months old) – so I don’t want him to feel left out of the cute clothes.

Here’s a sneak peak of some of the fabric I’ll be using:

IMG_0108
This orange fabric on top. I love this one. It’s kind of freaky, but I think it will be cute for little boy pants.

i have an idea

I have an idea! I love this fabric. I’m really excited to see how it looks sewn up into something.

I’m also hoping that when we travel to Africa to get them, that we’ll have some time to pick up more fabrics. I love African cloth fabrics.

2 Responses to “Dress # 4”

  1. hoyts April 12, 2010 at 02:43 #

    You will definitely have the cutest kids on the block! When our boys arrive, I might have to contract you to make us some matching African print outfits :)! -where did you buy your African fabrics?

  2. varouna April 12, 2010 at 17:29 #

    My husband buys the fabric for me when he goes to Gabon – apparently he knows my tastes! I’m hoping to pick some up when we got to DRC, but I’m not sure that we will have the time.

Leave a Reply

